Mid-Ohio Valley players represent Ohio’s All-Southeast hoops teams

Area teams represented in 2021

The Waterford girls and Warren boys are the last remaining local prep basketball teams from the Southeast District, and they are both well represented on the 2021 all-district list.

The Waterford girls, who play Peebles in a Division IV regional final at 7 p.m. Saturday at Southeastern High School, saw junior Cara Taylor earn first team honors. Taylor is averaging 14.2 points per game, 4.1 rebounds, 4.2 steals, 2.4 assists, and is shooting 46.7% from the floor. She recently scored a game-high 27 points to lead Waterford to a win in the district semifinal against South Webster.

Fellow junior Mackenzie Suprano was named to the second team. She leads the team with 15.9 points per game to go along with 6.6 rebounds, three assists and two steals. Her 19 points in Thursday’s regional semifinal win over Newark Catholic led all scorers.

Waterford, which is 19-6 overall, also had senior Riley Schweikert nab third team honors. She is averaging 7.7 points, 6.3 boards, 1.6 steals and 1.4 assists.

Seth Dennis earned first team honors for the Warren boys, who are squaring off against Waverly in a D2 district final at 7 p.m. Saturday at Alexander High. Dennis missed the 2019-20 season due to a back injury, but had a remarkable comeback season, averaging 12.9 points and 3.5 assists to help the Warriors earn the district’s top seed.

Junior Brayden Sallee earned second team honors as he averaged 12.5 points and 8.1 rebounds per game. Seniors Kurt Taylor (9.2 points, 6.6 rebounds, 2.9 assists) and Joel Chevalier (9.0 points, 2.5 assists) were named special mention.

The Warren girls made a run to the district final, where they fell to Sheridan. The Warriors’ standout junior post player, Abbie Smith, repeated as a first team honoree after averaging 16.6 points and 10.2 rebounds per game this season. The East Central Ohio League Player of the Year also shot 66% from the floor.

Senior Olivia Alloway earned third team honors after posting 10.3 points, four rebounds, 2.4 assists and 1.6 steals per game. Sophomore Alex Frazee (8.3 points, four assists, three steals) was a special mention honoree.

In Division I, the Marietta girls had three players honored. Senior Morgan Altenburger was a second team selection after averaging 16.2 points, 5.7 rebounds and 1.9 steals. She shot 82% from the foul line this season. Her classmate, Adi Hill, was named to the third team after registering 13 points, 5.9 boards, 3.8 steals and 3.1 assists per game. She blocked 58 shots this season and shot 84% from the foul line and 47% from the floor. Fellow senior Jessica Smith was a special mention pick.

On the boys side for the Tigers, senior Tony Munos was a second team pick after averaging 19.1 points, 4.3 rebounds, 3.4 assists and two steals. He shot 47% from the floor. Classmate Mark Duckworth (seven points, 4.7 boards, 4.3 dimes and 1.6 steals) made special mention.

The area’s lone Division III team, the Belpre boys, saw senior Connor Baker make third team all-district. Baker averaged 14 points, 4.8 rebounds, 2.7 assists and 1,4 steals. Fellow senior Evan Wells (12 points, four rebounds, 1.8 assists, 1.5 steals) was a special mention pick.

The Belpre girls, who claimed a Division IV sectional title, saw senior Curstin Giffin receive second team honors. She averaged 14 points and 9.2 rebounds per game. Junior Halee Williams was named to the third team after posting 14 points and 10.3 boards per game.

Finally in Division IV, the Waterford boys saw junior Holden Dailey earn third team honors. Dailey averaged 12.4 points, 10.2 rebounds and 1.7 blocks while shooting 44% from the floor. Freshman Jarrett Armstrong (10.6 points, three rebounds, 44% FGs, 82% FTs) was a special mention pick.


In boys basketball, Dennis and Sallee were named first team All-ECOL, as was Munos.

Chevalier and Taylor were second teamers as were Duckworth and Marietta senior Adam Coil.

Warren’s Jake Baumgard and Marietta’s Tyler Kytta made honorable mention.

On the girls side, Smith was the ECOL Player of the Year while Warren head coach Amy Way was the Coach of the Year after the Warriors won the league.

Alloway and Frazee also were first teamers as were Altenburger and Hill.

On the second team were Warren senior Millie Ryan as well as Smith and Marietta freshman Saylor Wharff.

Warren senior Savannah Banks and Marietta senior Jennifer Smith were named honorable mention.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.15/week.

Subscribe Today