WVU-Parkersburg inducts members to Delta Mu Delta

Jeff Holland, WVU Parkersburg business, accounting and public service chairman, presents Alice Harris, WVU Parkersburg executive vice president, with an honorary membership in the Delta Mu Delta Omicron Pi Chapter. (Photo Provided)

PARKERSBURG — An induction ceremony was held Tuesday for new members of the Delta Mu Delta international honor society in business at West Virginia University at Parkersburg.

The new student members include Morgan Bonnett, Nancy Goff, Serena Graham, Bryanna Monroe, Justina Morris, Mitchell Levi Newbanks, Elijah Randolph, Morgan Reilly and Amy Smith.

The society inducted juniors and seniors majoring in business who rank in the top 10 percent cumulative grade point averages from among enrolled business administration baccalaureate students. Inductees took the official oath of membership and were presented with a certificate and the honor society’s key.

In addition to the new student members, Alice Harris, WVU Parkersburg executive vice president, and instructor Dana Lee were inducted as honorary members.

“To have your colleagues recognize you for excellence in your chosen profession is a humbling experience and I am honored and thankful to be inducted into this prestigious society,” Harris said.

WVU Parkersburg instructor Dana Lee expresses her gratitude after receiving an honorary membership in the Delta Mu Delta Omicron Pi Chapter at the college. (Photo Provided)

Billy Stone, Delta Mu Delta Omicron Pi chapter faculty adviser and WVU Parkersburg assistant professor of business, officiated the ceremony. Jeff Holland, WVU Parkersburg business, accounting and public service division chairman, inducted the new honorary members.

Also attending were Omicron Pi chapter President Jillian Ballengee, Vice President Daniel Seebaugh, Treasurer Mariah Stansberry and Secretary Victoria Poellot-Tauber.

“It’s always a great evening when you get invited to the most exclusive club on campus, the Delta Mu Delta Business Honorary Society,” Holland said. “Only the top students are invited to apply, and the annual induction is a true celebration of scholarship.”

Delta Mu Delta is an international honor society established to recognize and reward superior scholastic achievement of students in business administration, as well as faculty members and business leaders who have experienced measurable success in their profession.

Membership to Delta Mu Delta is by invitation and extended to undergraduate students who meet eligibility criteria.

“An invitation to join the Omicron Pi chapter of Delta Mu Delta is reserved only for the students who are top academic achievers pursuing a bachelor’s degree in business,” Stone said. “Their membership confirms that the individual has a proven track record of working hard to achieve excellence in their studies and the drive to succeed in a business career.”