Local schools achieve 100 percent voter registration

PARKERSBURG –Eight schools in Jackson, Pleasants, Tyler, Wetzel and Wood counties are among 24 in West Virginia where all the eligible seniors are registered to vote, the Secretary of State said on Tuesday.

The achievement qualifies the schools for the first round of the Jennings Randolph Award for the 2019-2020 school year, Secretary of State Mac Warner said.

The schools are Ravenswood High School and Ripley High School in Jackson County, St. Marys High School in Pleasants County, Tyler Consolidated High School in Tyler County, Hundred High School and Paden City High School in Wetzel County, and Parkersburg Catholic High School and Williamstown High School in Wood County.

The Jennings Randolph Award program, established 26 years ago, encourages students to discuss the importance of civic engagement and to register to vote. The program is named for the late U.S. Sen. Jennings Randolph, a native of West Virginia who sponsored the 26th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution that reduced the voting age from 21 to 18.

High schools which register at least 85 percent of eligible students receive the award.

The Gold Level Award is given to West Virginia high schools that register 100 percent of eligible students. Schools which have registered at least 85 percent and qualified for the Silver Level have until May 1 to earn the Gold.

Also, qualifying schools are eligible to nominate up to two members of the student body for Honorary Secretary of State, who will be invited to attend a day at the Legislature. The Honorary Secretary of State list will be released later during session.

“Over the last three years, we have worked with county clerks and student leaders throughout the state to register more than 43,000 high school seniors to vote,” Warner said. “That’s an incredible number for a state the size of West Virginia.”


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)