BACF announces initial football rosters at Don Drumm

PARKERSBURG — The initial rosters have been announced for 24th annual BACF (Battle Against Cystic Fibrosis) Ohio vs. West Virginia Football Classic Friday, June 9 at Don Drumm Stadium in Marietta.

Headed by this year’s coaches Mike Eddy of Parkersburg South for West Virginia and Jason Schob of Marietta for Ohio, the rosters numbered just 21 for the W.Va. squad while Ohio had more with 35 in this first edition of rosters at this point, almost a full month before the game kicks off at 7 p.m. June 9 at Don Drumm.

St. Marys leads the West Virginia players with five, followed by Parkersburg Catholic and Wirt County with three each, and both Tyler Consolidated and Roane County with two.

On the Ohio side, Marietta and Fort Frye both sport five players on the team, while Waterford, Caldwell and River all have four, Monroe Central and Southern with three each, and Frontier and Morgan with two.

West Virginia leads the series by a 15-8 margin, and has won five of the last seven games.

All tickets at the gates will be $5 with all proceeds going to the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation for research into finding a cure for cystic fibrosis, a debilitating disease that affects the respiratory and digestive systems.


Head coach: Mike Eddy, Parkersburg South

South: Brant Freeland, RB-LB

Parkersburg Catholic: Adrien Mills, OT-DT; Christian Tallman, WR-DB; Issac Walters, OG-LB

Wirt County: Drew Adams, WR-FS; Steven Cuningham, WR-DB; Josh Ellison, RB-LB

St. Marys: Braden Barnhart, RB-LB; Will Billeter, QB-DB; Devin Boley, OG-LB; Elijah Eades, RB-LB; Jacob Northrop, OT-DT

Ritchie County: Dylan Beall, WR-DE

Doddridge County: Hunter Riffle, WR-FS

Paden City: Aaron Heasley, QB-DE

Tyler Consolidated: Brandon Keys, OG-LB; Jace Reed, RB-DE

Roane County: Garrett Burnside, OT-DT; Tyler May, RB-LB

Ripley: Hunter Stephens, WR-DB

Point Pleasant: Bunkie Shultz, K


Head coach: Jason Schob, Marietta

Marietta: Trent Dawson, QB; Bailey Wright, LB; Travis Moore, WR; Matt Ford, LB; Michael Crawford, DL

Fort Frye: Casey Lewis, RB; Owen Matheny, OL; Jordan Baker, OL; Jacob Prichard, DE; Brady Carpenter, WR

Waterford: Ty McGraw, LB; Cylus Reynolds, OL; Riley Burns, OL; Adam Roe, OL

Frontier: Caleb McLeish, OL; Wyatt Smitley, DL

Caldwell: Jason Allen, DB; Dalton Ivey, RB: Simon Shuster, DL; Sheldon Archer, LB

Morgan: Scott Harry, OL; Cam Meadows, OL

Monroe Central: Trey Duffy, DB; Jarrett Hooper, DB; Bobby O’Donnell, LB

Shenandoah: Dalton Cowgill, WR

Southern: Blake Johnson, QB; Jaylen Banks, WR; Trey Pickens, OL

River: Braden Whetsell, WR; Cody Saska, LB; Luke Matusik, DL; Mason Ladyga, DL

Nelsonville-York: Skylar Canter, OL

Trimble: Kamron Curry, WR