West Virginia candidates file for office as Saturday deadline looms

CHARLESTON — With the deadline to file at midnight Saturday, candidates for the 2022 primary election continue to emerge.

U.S. Rep. Carol Miller, R-W.Va., will seek reelection to the House of Representatives in the new 1st Congressional District, covering the southern part of the state including Calhoun, Gilmer, Jackson, Roane and Wirt counties.

In District 2, encompassing the northern half of West Virginia, Morgantown resident Barry Lee Wendell filed to run as a Democrat.

In the West Virginia Senate, incumbent Richard Lindsay, D-Kanawha, filed in the 8th District, which now includes Roane and part of Jackson County. Democrat Eric M. Hayhurst of Morgantown is running in Senate District 2, of which Tyler, Wetzel and a portion of Doddridge County are part.

On the House of Delegates side, Democrat Jonathan Defibaugh of Parkersburg filed in District 12, which runs in and around north Parkersburg. Republican Mark Mitchem of Clay filed for District 8, which includes Doddridge and parts of Tyler and Wetzel counties.

House Speaker Roger Hanshaw, R-Clay, is seeking reelection in District 62, which covers Clay, Calhoun and part of Gilmer County.

Democrat Kevin Carpenter of Sutton is running in District 63, which covers Braxton County and a portion of Gilmer County.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today