Sour Mash String Band to perform at City Park on Thursday

Thursday’s concert in the Artsbridge Summer Music Series will feature the Sour Mash String Band. The free show, sponsored by Erie Insurance, is 7-8 p.m. Thursday at the City Park band shell. (Photo Provided)

PARKERSBURG — The Sour Mash String Band will perform 7-8 p.m. Thursday in the Artsbridge Summer Music Series at the City Park band shell.

The band is sponsored by Erie Insurance. Lawn chairs and friends are recommended to relax and enjoy a summer evening of free music.

The Sour Mash String Band is an Americana bluegrass band that started in 2015 when surveyor and musician/songwriter Josh Moody, who plays guitar, met with former WVU football player and musician/ songwriter Cody Nutter.

They started playing at local venues and open mics and when they were asked to provide a band for a gig, they called on some musician friends and the chemistry and tunes effortlessly flowed.

It wasn’t long until the band was playing in towns along the West Virginia and Ohio border. The group plays high-energy foot-stomping songs an soulful, laid back bluesy numbers.

The Sour Mash String Band is based in the Mid-Ohio Valley. It has played numerous fairs, festivals and venues including the John Hartford Festival in Indiana, Millennium Music Conference and Showcase in Harrisburg, Pa., where one of its songs was chosen to showcase on the conference, and in Nashville where it was interviewed and featured on the “Nashville Side Streets Show.”

Other performances were at the Sam Jam Preview, Rudy Fest, Poston Lake Bluegrass Festival, The Penny Royal and shows in Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky, West Virginia and Tennessee.

The group’s first album, “Down the Highway,” was released in May 2016 and was recorded at Hilltop Line Studio in Kentucky. The CD is distributed worldwide and can be found on Apple ITunes, CD baby, Spotify, Amazon, and YouTube.

“Roll Me Away,” the second album, was produced by Bernie Nau at Peachfork Studios and contains many original songs by Moody and Nutter. It was released in April 2020.

The band consists of five members: Moody on guitar and vocals; Nutter on mandolin and vocals; Greg Settle on banjo and vocals; Harry Kuhn on upright bass and vocals; and Mariane Barnett on vocals. All are accomplished musicians who have played with other bands over the years, some nationally.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today