Parkersburg council makes appointments

From staff reports

PARKERSBURG — The leadership of Parkersburg City Council committees will remain unchanged in 2019.

Council President Mike Reynolds announced appointments to the Finance, Personnel and Public Works committees, along with other posts during Tuesday’s council meeting.

Councilman Zach Stanley returns as Finance Committee chairman, with last year’s council president, John Reed, taking Reynolds’ 2018 position as vice chairman. Councilmen J.R. Carpenter, Jeff Fox and Dave McCrady round out the membership.

Councilwoman Sharon Kuhl will again serve as chairwoman of the Personnel Committee, with Councilman Bob Mercer as vice chairman. Fox, Stanley and Councilman Eric Barber are the other members.

McCrady will be chairman of the Public Works Committee, while Fox was again named vice chairman. Carpenter, Reed and Mercer will also serve on the committee.

McCrady will continue to serve as chairman of the Stormwater Committee that was brought back last year to consider ways to address the city’s aging storm sewer system. He is joined on that committee by Carpenter, Fox, Mercer and Reed, as well as Mayor Tom Joyce, Engineer Adam Stout and Public Works Director Everett Shears.

Kuhl will also chair the Community Service Committee, which was created last year to recognize achievements by youth and others in the community. Its membership includes Barber, Fox, Mercer and Reed.

Other appointments are:

∫ Wood County Economic Development Authority: Stanley.

∫ Wood County Recreation Commission: Reed.

∫ Municipal Planning Commission: McCrady.

∫ Municipal Tree Commission: Kuhl.

∫ Holiday in the Park: Barber.

∫ Downtown PKB: Reed.

∫ Urban Renewal Authority chairman: Reynolds.

∫ Bicycle Committee: Barber.

∫ Central Downtown Business District Design and Facade Committee: Carpenter.

∫ Stormwater Committee: Reed.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)