WSCC Phi Theta Kappa chapter inducts members

Photo Provided A large group of Alpha Rho Gamma members inducted recently at WSCC.

MARIETTA — The Alpha Rho Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Washington State Community College recently inducted its largest group in more than five years.

PTK is the national honor society of community colleges and at last week’s ceremony, the chapter added 44 members to its roster. This is an increase of more than 40 percent from last fall and the largest group inducted since 2012. Chapter adviser and Professor Brad Merritt speculates the increase is due to three factors: first, students, in general, are performing better.

Merritt attributes this to an initiative by the college to provide greater support, including study tables, tutors, and assistance from the Center for Student Success. Next, the national headquarters rolled out an online acceptance option, which means once a student is invited to join they can immediately submit their application electronically.

Lastly, Merritt believes more students on campus are now aware of the group, which he credits to increased publicity, chapter activities, and involvement by its members at campus events.

New members are Jack Alvarez, Samantha Banziger, Rachel Baumgard, Angela Bennett, Natalie Brooks, Dylan Brown, Sophia Brown, Kasey Buchanan, Stephanie Camden, Abbie Carter, Brooke Copenhaver, Deanna Darrach, Micah Hall, Katie Hendrickson, Nancy Hutchison, Robert Hurt, Breanne Jones, Jackson Macatol, Amanda Kelsey, Stephen King, Amanda Klintworth, Shayla Lightfritz, Brittany Lipps, Mandalyn Ludtman, Stephen Maher, Kaitlyn McClead, Dennis Morris, Kasey Myers, Rebecca Offenberger, Maria Pfaff, Katelyn Reed, Corinne Roberts, Kylie Ruble, Cantor Schott, Hannah Shears, Margaret Smendziuk, Haley Tornes, Baileigh Trisler, Tanya Wade, Jessica Ward, Brent Welch, Kristen Winstanley, Mason Wittekind and Abigail Worstell.

The chapter will host its final fundraiser for the year on Saturday, Lunch with Santa, at Pizza Place on Second Street in Marietta from noon to 3 pm. Proceeds benefit the chapter and its scholarship fund.

PTK was established in 1918 and is recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges as the official honor society for two-year colleges. Membership is extended to every student who completes at least 12 credit hours (excluding developmental coursework) with a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.5.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today