Wirt County wins A Challenge

Photo provided Wirt County captured the third annual West Virginia A Challenge on Saturday at Ritchie County High School. The 14 individual champions are pictured above, kneeling from left, are 106 Logan Powell (Wirt County), 113 Hunter Poole (Wirt County), 120 Wiley Houser (St. Marys), 126 Connor Spaulding (Ritchie), 132 AJ Garrett (Wirt County), 138 Gage Adams (Magnolia) and 145 Alec Cook (Madonna, MOW). Standing, from left, are 152 Brent Robinson (Notre Dame), 160 Evan Daniels (Madonna), 170 Dalton McCune (Calhoun County), 182 Elias Stamm (South Harrison), 195 Garrett Cook (Madonna), 220 Antonio Serevicz (Wahama) and 285 Mikey Hamric (Magnolia).

ELLENBORO — Wirt County crowned three individual champions, including third-seeded 132-pounder AJ Garrett, here Saturday evening as the Tigers roared past host Ritchie County, 204-138, to win the third annual A Challenge.

Two-time defending champion Madonna (106.5) finished behind South Harrison (121), Magnolia (115), St. Marys (115) and Ravenswood (110.5), but top-seeded 145-pound Blue Don Alec Cook was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler after registering a 21-5 technical fall versus Wahama’s Trevor Jones.

Wirt County head coach Danny Life got his first crown from 106-pounder Logan Powell, who pinned Matthew Ables of South Harrison. Tiger Hunter Poole won at 113 when he blanked Ravenswood’s Ethan Tanner for a 10-0 major decision.

Garrett, who needed overtime to upend top-seeded Reese Burnside of Doddridge County 8-4, was one of only two non-No. 1 seeds to win a title. The other was Notre Dame No. 3 seed Brent Robinson, who also used overtime to top expected 152-pound champ Colton Clark of Ravenswood, 4-3.

Ritchie County received a title from 126-pounder Connor Spaulding, who edged second-seeded Wyatt Powell of Wirt County, 7-5. Spaulding is ranked third in the Mountain State and the Tiger is fourth.

The Mid-Ohio Valley had a quartet of other A Challenge champions, which included Magnolia teammates Drew Adams at 138 and heavyweight Mikey Hamric, who pinned Notre Dame’s Michael Alvaro. Adams had the only offensive points in his 138-pound title match versus Doddridge County’s Jared Jones, who fell 3-1. Blue Eagle 182-pounder James Stillwagoner was pinned by South Harrison’s Elias Stamm.

Calhoun County 170-pounder Dalton McCune topped the podium after doubling up Madonna’s Colton Yoder, 8-4. The Blue Dons had two other winners. The first came thanks to 195-pounder Garrett Cook, who registered an 11-3 major decision versus Notre Dame’s Brandon Nicholson while 160-pound teammate Evan Daniels topped Ritchie County’s Kaleb Kovacs, 13-8.

At 120, Wiley Houser of St. Marys had his hand raised following a mat slapper against Wirt County’s Kolton Parsons. Also, Wahama 220-pounder Antonio Serevicz closed his title match out via fall when he stuck Notre Dame’s Jason LaAsmar.

Results from the third annual West

Virginia A Challenge at Ritchie County

TEAM SCORES: Wirt County 204, Ritchie County 138, South Harrison 121, Magnolia 115, St. Marys 115, Ravenswood 110.5, Madonna 106.5, Doddridge County 92, Notre Dame 89, Midland Trail 75, Wahama 67, Calhoun County 43, Paden City 39, Tyler Consolidated 39


106: Logan Powell (Wirt) p. Matthew Ables (SH)

113: Hunter Poole (Wirt) md. Ethan Tanner (Rwood), 10-0

120: Wiley Houser (SM) p. Kolton Parsons (Wirt)

126: Connor Spaulding (RC) d. Wyatt Powell (Wirt), 7-5

132: AJ Garrett (Wirt) d. Reese Burnside (DC), 8-4 (OT)

138: Gage Adams (Mag) d. Jared Jones (DC), 3-1

145: *Alex Cook (Mad) tf. Trevor Hunt (Wah), 21-5

152: Brent Robinson (ND) d. Colton Clark (Rwood), 4-3 (OT)

160: Evan Daniels (Mad) d. Kaleb Kovacs (RC), 13-8

170: Dalton McCune (Calhoun) d. Colton Yoder (MD), 8-4

182: Elias Stamm (SH) p. James Stillwagoner (Mag)

195: Garrett Cook (Mad) md. Brandon Nicholson (ND), 11-3

220: Antonio Serevicz (Wah) p. Jason LaAsmar (ND)

285: Mikey Hamric (Mag) p. Michael Alvaro (ND)

*Denotes MOW


106: Colton Legg (MT) d. Emma Tomlinson (Wah), 7-2

113: Jeremy Darnold (RC) d. Jett Sampson (Calhoun), 7-4

120: Brady Layman (RC) p. Joseph Powers (DC)

126: Preston Peck (SH) md. Parker Todd (DC), 9-0

132: Cody Smith (Rwood) p. Eric Darnold (RC)

138: Andrew Hardman (RC) won by injury default vs. Colton Whipkey (Wirt)

145: Zach Hogsed (SH B) d. Clay Tanner (Rwood), 6-0

152: Brennan Boron (SM) md. Kayden Procacina (RC), 13-5

160: Cyle West (SM) p. Trent Richards (Wirt)

170: Lance Sims (Wirt) p. Brody Rush (Mag)

182: Dylan Buckland (MT) p. Dalton Moore (Rwood)

195: Glen McFee (Wirt) p. Riley Boley (SM)

220: Ryan Cross (PC) d. Ethan Lane (Rwood), 6-3

285: Trey Waller (SH) p. Marshall Norman (SM)


106: Alyssa Barnes (DC) p. Dylan Winter (Rwood)

113: Caleb Lloyd (DC) p. Jason Spragg (PC)

120: Allen Collins (Mag) p. Wyatt Rolston (Wirt B)

126: Austin Macek (Mad) p. Jesse Coulter (Mag)

132: None

138: Preston Menas (Rwood) wbf vs. Brian Rhodes (SM)

145: Xavier Rodriguez (Rwood B) d. Anthony Colombo (SH), 8-5

152: Francisco Reyna (SH) p. Mikey Shreves (PC)

160: Justin Mace (DC) p. Alex McCoy (PC)

170: Issac Snodgrass (SM) p. Rory Bunner (RC)

182: James Beaver (PC) d. Isiah Taylor (MT B), 6-3

195: Cameorn Stillwagoner (Mag) d. Hunter Leggett (RC), 10-8 (OT)

220: Caleb McCune (MT) p. Gaven Valazquez (SH)

285: Billy Anderson (TC) p. Christian Cain (Wirt)