Flannery to coach the Ohio BACF all-stars

HANNIBAL, Ohio — River High School head football coach Mike Flannery will lead a very talented Ohio squad in the 25th annual Battle Against Cystic Fibrosis All-Star Football Classic Friday night at Bill Hanlin Stadium in St. Marys.

Flannery already owns one victory in the BACF Classic as he led the West Virginia squad to a 21-13 win at Ralph Holder Stadium in Belpre back in 1996 when he was head coach at Paden City.

“I have been very impressed with the attentiveness of the kids and their intelligence after just four or five practices,” said Flannery, who will begin his 16th season as Pilots head coach this fall. “A lot of them are very familiar with what we are doing; it was just a matter of learning a new terminology.”

Flannery will look to a familiar rival behind center as former Monroe Central Seminole Ryan LaFollette figures to get the lions share of the snaps at quarterback Friday night.

“He is a very athletic quarterback and had a very nice season last year as a senior at Monroe Central,” said Flannery of LaFollette, who will play at Wheeling Jesuit this fall. “He nearly single-handily beat us last year and he did beat Shenandoah, so we are going to put the ball in his hands and take advantage of his abilities.”

Among the candidates at the running back positions are Nick Miller from Shenandoah as well as Ted Smith from Waterford who moved into the backfield midway through his senior season.

Flannery and his staff will also look to utilize the talents of Shenandoah’s Austin McPeek and Clint Wikander, Belpre’s Tojzae Reams and Bailey Sprague as well as former Marietta Tiger Cody Wittekind in the backfield.

Three former River Pilots will be on the Ohio squad including second team All-Ohio lineman Luc Baker, who will also be playing at Wheeling Jesuit this fall.

Ethan Lively and Cole Hinerman are the other two former Pilots on the Buckeye roster.

Flannery has been impressed with a pair of former Fort Frye Cadet linemen in Cameron Camp and Tyson Miller who had hardily no trouble at all picking up on the offense that the Ohio squad will run.

The Ohio defense will be led by former Wirt County and Ritchie County head coach Mike Lucas and will feature a three-linebacker look most of the time.

Miller and Smith will likely see time at the linebacker spots as will a pair of future Marietta College Pioneers in Devin Moss (Marietta) and Dylan Hanson (Shadyside).

Josh Robinson (Shadyside), Alex Webb (Monroe Central), Cash Presnell (Shenandoah), Dakota Milosavljevic (Beallsville), Casey Hill (Beallsville) and Gabe Rejonis (Bellaire) will also be looked upon to play key roles on both sides of the line for Ohio squad.

Joining Lucas on Flannery’s coaching staff are Kevin Welsh (Warren) as well as a quartet of members from his River staff in Jason Merryman, Toby Willis, Joey Asturi and Chris Wisvari.

The decision to coach in the silver anniversary of the BACF Classic was an easy one for Flannery, who led his Pilots to the regional final game last season.

“It is an honor to be doing it again. It is such a great program for such a great cause and so many people have worked so hard over the years to make it a success,” said Flannery. “Jodi Mote will be a great game director and Danny Tennant did such a great job for so many years. It’s an honor to be part of it.”


Battle Against Cystic Fibrosis Football Classic

Ohio vs. West Virginia at 7 p.m. Friday, June 15

in Bill Hanlin Stadium at St. Marys High School

(West Virginia leads the series, 15-9)


Head coach: Mike Byus, Parkersburg

Assistant coaches: All of Byus’ staff at PHS (Dave Manzo, Zach Nolan, Mike Kupfner, Dan Fiedorczyk, Scott Cleland, Dan Lott, Murray Mace)

No. Name School Hgt. Wgt. Pos.

1 Brandon May Roane County 6-1 170 R-DB

2 Seth Dailey Parkersburg 5-11 155 R-DB

3 Christian Axman Parkersburg 6-0 181 K-P

4 Logan Gogan Doddridge County 5-10 180 FB-DE

5 Kam Mace Parkersburg 6-2 180 QB

6 Aaron Turner Point Pleasant 6-1 210 S

8 Bradan Mullenix Williamstown 6-2 182 TE-LB

9 Ahmed Ali Parkersburg South 5-11 185 K

11 Noah Garrett Wirt County 5-8 160 R

15 Matt Eichhorn St. Marys 5-7 175 R-DB

17 Devin Williams Ritchie County 5-7 155 R-OLB

18 Dalton Houser St. Marys 6-0 185 R-LB

21 Jaiden Smith St. Marys 5-9 195 RB-LB

22 Keshaun Stover Point Pleasant 5-9 175 RB/QB-S

31 Curtis James Doddridge County 6-0 190 FB-LB

40 Dylan Gray St. Marys 5-0 220 FB-DE

42 Tyler Ricker Roane County 6-0 190 RB-LB/DB

43 Evan Amos Williamstown 5-10 205 RB-LB

44 Tucker Mays Point Pleasant 6-0 215 FB-DE/LB

50 Aaron Peterman Wirt County 6-3 210 C-LB

51 Tucker Dalrymple St. Marys 5-9 265 OL-DT

53 Elijah Hearn St. Marys 5-11 235 OL-DL

55 Dylan Richards Parkersburg 6-2 220 OL/TE

63 Jesse Gleason Point Pleasant 6-1 280 OL-DL

68 Ben Scott Roane County 5-10 260 OL-DL

69 Antone Herring St. Marys 6-3 230 OL-DL

70 Ethan Mahan Ravenswood 6-5 240 OT/TE-DE

73 Ryan Morton Ritchie County 6-2 280 OL-DL

75 Andrew Simonton John Marshall 6-0 255 OL-DL

88 William Howell Doddridge County 5-9 185 NG


Head coach: Mike Flannery, River

Assistant coaches: Mike Lucas, Kevin Welsh, Jason Merryman, Toby Willis, Joey Asturi, Chris Wisvari

No. Name School Pos. Hgt. Wgt.

1 Tojzae Reams Belpre RB/DB 5-8 160

2 Bailey Sprague Belpre TE/DE 6-2 195

3 Gabe Rejonis Bellaire RB/DB 5-10 170

5 Ryan LaFollette Monroe Central QB/DB 6-0 185

11 Dakota Milosavljevic Beallsville RB/DB 6-0 145

12 Dylan Hanson Shadyside OL/LB 5-10 220

14 Cody Wittekind Marietta C/DL 5-11 240

20 Nick Miller Shenandoah RB/LB 6-0 215

24 Clint Wikander Shenandoah RB/DB 5-9 160

25 Austin McPeek Shenandoah TE/DB 5-11 215

28 Devon Moss Marietta RB/LB 5-6 185

40 Ted Smith Waterford RB/LB 5-8 170

56 Josh Robinson Shadyside OL/DL 5-8 260

57 Cash Presnell Shenandoah OL/DL 6-0 220

60 Tyson Miller Fort Frye OL/DE 5-10 175

61 Luc Baker River OL/DL 6-0 300

69 Casey Hill Beallsville OL/DL 5-11 240

70 Cameron Camp Fort Frye OL/DE 6-2 240

72 Ethan Lively River C/DE 6-0 190

77 Alex Webb Monroe Central OL/DL 6-0 210

88 Cole Hinerman River WR/DB 6-0 190