Swisher, Gardner, Deem to be inducted into PHS Hall of Fame

Parkersburg High graduate Nick Swisher celebrates after hitting a grand slam during a 2014 Major League Baseball game in Cleveland. Swisher is one of three 2018 inductees into the Parkersburg High School Sports Hall of Fame.

PARKERSBURG — The Parkersburg High School Sports Hall of Fame will have a reception banquet to honor three new inductees to its distinguished list on Thursday, Jan. 25, at the Parkersburg Country Club.

The 2018 honorees are Amy Deem, Susan Gardner and Nick Swisher.

The evening will begin with a social hour at 5:30 p.m. with a cash bar, and the banquet starting at 6:30 p.m. Tickets are $50 each, and may be purchased from committee members or at the PHS Athletic Department in Memorial Fieldhouse. Checks should be made out to the PHS Athletic Department.

In addition, the honorees will be enshrined at 7 p.m. prior to the Friday, Jan. 26, Woodrow Wilson at PHS boys basketball game at the Fieldhouse. A reception in the little gym for the families and friends of the honorees will be held during the JV game, which begins at 5:30 p.m.

Past Hall of Fame members are Edgar Rhodes, Sam Mandich, Bob Dutton, Earl “Greasy” Neal, Ross McHenry, Daniel “Buddy” James, George Nedeff, Walter “Piggy” Barnes, J. Fred Early, James Bargeloh, Jim Early, William A. “Bill” Fields, Jennifer Leachman and Mike Lantz.

Committee members are Joe Hushion, Butch Shaver, Bill Niday, Jim Hamric, Chris Way, Kenny DeMoss, Judy Parrish and Patty Miser.

Nick Swisher

A 1999 graduate of Parkersburg High School, Nick Swisher was a two-time All-State football player, a three-time All-State baseball player and a letterman in basketball.

Nick went on to play collegiately on The Ohio State University baseball team in the Big 10 Conference. He was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year and Freshman All-American in 2000. He was a First Team All-Big Ten selection as a first baseman in 2001 and represented Team USA later that summer. He also earned First Team All-Big Ten honors as an outfielder in 2002 as a junior. In 2010, The Ohio State University named its field, “Nick Swisher Field.”

Nick went on to become a First Round Draft pick (16th overall) to the Oakland A’s in 2002. He made his MLB debut in 2004 and played for five different organizations during his 13 year career, most notably, as a member of the 2009 World Champion New York Yankees. An All Star in 2010, Nick hit at least 20 home runs in nine consecutive seasons from 2005 to 2013 to finish his career with 249 home runs.

Nick presently works as an analyst for Fox Sports and loves spending time with his beautiful family. Nick always played the game with a smile on his face, just like he did as a little kid.

Susan K. Gardner

Susan Gardner is a 1968 graduate of Parkersburg High School and WVU in 1972. She retired, after 40 years, as teacher/coach at PHS in 2012. She was a staple in the intramural and athletic programs at PHS and helped in making it the “School of Champions.”

Susan Gardner is the winningest track coach in W.Va. history. She was the head girls track coach at PHS from 1976 to 2011, which included 11 state team championships and seven runner-up finishes. She coached 38 individual champions, 17 relay state champions, nine state record holders and six high-point individuals at the state meet.

Susan also was PHS volleyball coach from 1975-82 with two state team championships and one runner-up finish.

Gard was selected as the W.Va. Female Coach of the Year in 1985-86, W.Va. Track Coach of the Year in 1991-92 and Girls Track COY in 1995-96 & 2000-01. She was a National HS Girls Track COY Finalist in 1990, 1998 & 2003.

The track at Stadium Field was named Susan K Gardner Track in 2011.

She was inducted into the MOV Sports Hall of Fame in 2014.

Amy Deem

Amy Deem, a 1984 PHS graduate, was an outstanding hurdler on the Parkersburg High School track team. In 1988, while completing a degree at Ohio University, Amy became an intern at Miami (Fla.) University in the Compliance Department. While fulfilling her internship at OU, she simultaneously served as assistant track coach at UM. In June of 1990, she became the head women’s track coach at UM. Presently, she is the director of Track & Field/Cross Country at the U of Miami. At that time, she became the sixth woman to oversee both the men’s and women’s track and cross country program at a Division I School.

The 2016 track & field season was monumental in Hurricane history, as the Miami women won their 3rd ACC indoor championship. Deem was named Coach of the Year for the indoor season.

Amy, a member of the University of Miami Sports Hall of Fame, is responsible for building the women’s track program from modest beginnings into an NCAA powerhouse. Prior to her being the head coach in 1990, the Hurricanes never had an athlete record an NCAA qualifying mark. She also has enjoyed much success in USA Olympic Track and Field. In 2007, she served as the head coach of the USA team at the World Championships in Japan. She has won multiple Coach of the Year awards from various groups.