Sauro to coach in North-South hoops game

The 2016 North-South All-Star Classic boys basketball game tonight will feature some familiar faces.

From Williamstown, head coach Scott Sauro will be guiding the North squad along with Gilmer County head coach Steve Shuff. Sauro helped lead the Yellowjackets to a 19-3 record on the hardwood this season and was thrilled to learn he would get another chance to coach some of West Virginia’s finest hoopsters.

“I’m excited for it,” Sauro said. “I’m honored to coach a game like this.”

Also a part of the North squad is a pair of players Sauro is very familiar with – Williamstown’s Landon Travis and Riley Allen.

Travis, the reigning Little Kanawha Conference Player of the Year, averaged 15.5 points and six rebounds per game as a senior. Teammate Allen was a second-team All-LKC honoree.

“To get to have a couple more practices and have one last game with them is special,” Sauro said.

Also included on the North roster is Parkersburg South’s Garrett Gilkeson and Gilmer’s Colby Cunningham.

Gilkeson, who will play collegiately at Virginia Military Institute, was a first-team all-state honoree as a senior. He left South as a 1,000-point scorer and a member of the winningest class in school history.

The remainder of the North roster is made up of Bridgeport’s Nick Greely, Martinsburg’s Jarrell Jones, Lewis County’s Ben Riley, Morgantown’s Kenzie Melko, Wheeling Park’s Phil Bledsoe, Robert C. Byrd’s Luke Dyer, Fairmont Senior’s Darius Nunn, Weir’s Johnathan West, Tucker County’s Seth Evans and Musselman’s Kyle Jackson.

The South team will be led by Huntington head coach Ron Hess and Summers City boss Robert Bowling.

The only area representative on the South squad will be 6-foot-8 Ripley standout Luke Layhew. Layhew was a 1,000-point scorer in his Vikings career and also set school records with 650 rebounds and 155 blocks in his high school tenure. He averaged 17.5 points and 8.6 rebounds per game as a senior and was a third-team all-state honoree.

Also expected to play for South is Huntington’s Tavian Dunn-Martin, Riverside’s Josh Carpenter, South Charleston’s Brandon Knapper, Summers City’s Matt Ryan, Woodrow Wilson’s Nequan Carrington, Mount View’s Kenneth Brown, Tug Valley’s Kelvin Blankenship, Charleston Catholic’s Hayden McCarty, Wayne County’s Colby Wickline, Capital’s Neil Williams and Crunchy Bays, Hoover’s Matthew Justice and Poca’s Austin Henrich and Kaden Meeks.

Tonight’s tip-off is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. at the South Charleston Community Center following the 6 p.m. skills competition.