68th annual VAD Sunday in Charleston

WHEELING -The nation’s oldest statewide sports fete will be conducted Sunday at the Charleston Civic Center.

The 68th annual Victory Awards Dinner, sponsored by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association, will be highlighted by the induction of the two newest members of the W. Va. Sports Hall of Fame – retired Marshall University head football coach Bob Pruett, and tennis and female sports pioneer Fern Lee (Peachy) Kellmeyer, an inductee into the International Tennis Hall of Fame.

Marshall quarterback Rakeem Cato will receive the Hardman Award as Amateur Athlete of the Year. The Furfari Award as College Coach of the Year will go to Jim Crutchfield, the West Liberty University men’s basketball coach, and the High School Coach of the Year is Shannon Lewis, the girls’ basketball coach at Huntington St. Joseph.

High school football awards include the Kennedy Award as Player of the Year to Chazzy Thomas of Morgantown; the Sam Huff Award as Defensive Player of the Year to Geremy Paige of Wheeling Park; and the Hunt Award as Lineman of the Year to James Walton of Capital.

Receiving top basketball awards will be Jon Elmore of George Washington, the Evans Award, and Mychal Johnson of Huntington St. Joseph, the Ostrowski Award.

The McCoy Award winners as Trackpersons of the Year are Dante Price of Jefferson and Emily Godwin of Buckhannon-Upshur. The Dutton Award for wrestling goes to Dalton George of Williamstown while the Baseball Player of the Year goes to Daniel Heleine of Hedgesville.

The Kennedy Foundation Scholarship award winners are Anthony Bonamico of Bridgeport and Jake Parker of Meadow Bridge. Rick McCann, sports editor of the Huntington Herald-Dispatch, is the Morehouse Award recipient.

Mark Martin will serve as toastmaster, Dave Morrison of the Wheeling Newspapers is president of the 82-year-old W. Va. Sports Writers Association.