Victory Awards Dinner set May 4 in Charleston

WHEELING-Tickets for the 68th annual Victory Awards Dinner are on sale through April 28 at newspapers around the state. No tickets are sold at the door.

The event -sponsored by the W. Va. Sports Writers Association – is the nation’s oldest statewide sports fete and will be conducted on May 4 at the Charleston Civic Center. Start time is 4 p.m.

Honorees include the two newest inductees into the W. Va. Sports Hall of Fame–retired Marshall U. football coach Bob Pruett and International Tennis Hall of Famer Peachy Kellmeyer; Hardman Award winner Rakeem Cato of Marshall U.; Kennedy Award winner Chazzy Thomas of Morgantown; Huff Award winner Geremy Paige of Wheeling Park; Hunt Award winner James Walton of Capital; Evans Award winner Jon Elmore of George Washington, Ostrowski Award winner Mychal Johnson of Huntington St. Joseph; McCoy Award winners Dante Price of Jefferson and Emily Godwin of Buckhannon; Dutton Award winner Dalton George of Williamstown; Baseball Player of the Year Daniel Heleine of Hedgesville; Morehouse Award winner Rick McCann of Huntington Herald-Dispatch; state championship coaches; and first team all-staters in football, boys and girls basketball.

Also honored will be two Coaches of the Year–the Furfari Award for college plus the High School Coach of the Year. Both will be announced in the next couple of weeks.

Tickets are available from the following newspaper sports departments–Charleston Gazette (Rick Ryan); Charleston Daily Mail (Derek Taylor); Huntington Herald-Dispatch (Rick McCann); Parkersburg Sentinel (Dave Poe); Beckley Register-Herald (Cam Huffman); Bluefield Daily Telegraph (Brian Woodson); Clarksburg Exponent-Telegram (Chris Johnson); Fairmont Times-West Virginian (Cliff Nichols); Morgantown Dominion-Post (Drew Rubenstein); Martinsburg Journal (Rick Kozlowski); and Wheeling Newspapers (Dave Morrison).