Gilmer County sweeps top LKC awards

PARKERSBURG – Gilmer County wasn’t able to capture the Little Kanawha Conference’s South Division title and reach the Night of Champions. The Titans weren’t able to defeat Ravenswood in the third place game or earn a berth in last week’s Class A state tournament field.

But, that didn’t stop coaches of the 14-team conference from selecting the Titans’ Julie Bishop and Amy Riddle-Chapman as its Player and Coach of the Year, respectively.

Bishop, a senior, averaged nearly 21 points a game for Gilmer County, which finished with an 18-7 overall mark and 10-2 in the South with both setbacks coming at the hands of Clay County.

She is joined on the first unit by fellow seniors Kendra Walker of St. Marys, and Tyler Consolidated’s Sophie Kinnard and Sydney Reed.

Rounding out the team are juniors McKinzee Barker of Clay County, Parkersburg Catholic’s Alex Schaffer, Hailey Miller of Ravenswood, Cassidy Taylor of Roane County, Emily Harper of Braxton County and Ravenswood’s Taylor Treadway, sophomore Ashley Hall of conference champion St. Marys and freshman Ashley Morris of Williamstown.

Second team members include Sierra Riffle (Doddridge County), Isabella Haverty and Katelyn Horrocks (Clay County), Samantha Dedrick and Melissa Cieslewski (Williamstown), Mikaela Britton and Jordan Fox (St. Marys), Vanessa Tallman (Ritchie County), Kenzie Hicks (Calhoun County), Kylie Shuff (Gilmer County) and Alex Saunders (Parkersburg Catholic).

Walker and Hall were two of the key performers in the Blue Devils’ march to a fifth-straight NOC championship and a runner-up finish at the Class A state championships. Walker (18.2 ppg) averaged a double-double while Hall (15.1) provided a consistent outside threat that kept teams from double, or triple, teaming Walker in the paint.

The top scorer in the LKC, as well as the Mid-Ohio Valley, was the Silver Knights’ Reed (24.9 ppg) and, combined with Kinnard (18.0), proved to be one of the best one-two scoring punches in the LKC.

Barker (13.5 ppg) earned her second selection to the first unit as the junior led Clay County back to the title game for the fifth straight season while Miller (20.0) and Treadway (11.7) were the driving forces behind the Red Devils return to the NOC.

Schaffer (16.4 ppg) continued the Crusaderettes’ first team long run of first team selections as did Morris (11.4), the LKC team’s only freshman, for Williamstown.

Taylor made the leap from third team in 2013 to first team thanks to a 15.5 points per game scoring norm while Harper (9.7) was the Eagles’ top overall player.

Kinnard was the unit’s only three time first team selection while Barker, Bishop, and Walker were all repeat selections.

Riddle-Chapman, a former player for the Titans, earned her first COY selection and became the first coach from Gilmer County to earn the honor since Kenny Osborne was named co-COY with Parkersburg Catholic’s Dick Wildt in 1997.

Bishop joins Denae Dobbins (2002) as the only Titans to earn POY honors.