South wrestlers win all 14 OVAC matches

WHEELING – Three-time defending Ron Mauck Ohio Valley Athletic Conference champion Parkersburg South got off to a perfect start here Thursday night inside WesBanco Arena as the Patriots of first-year head coach Donna Dixon won all 14 of their matches in the opening round of the three-day tournament.

The Patriots, who return to action at noon today, led the field with 54 points while Steubenville had 49. Beaver Local (39), John Marshall (32) and Wheeling Park (32) rounded out the top five.

Parkersburg South 132-pounder Jordan Quiocho registered one of 13 pins for the four-time Class AAA state champions. When he got the mat slapper in 54 seconds versus Barnesville’s Jordan Starr the Patriot senior recorded his 100th career mat victory.

The only Patriot not to earn a pin was 120-pounder Braidon Knotts, but the unseeded PSHS grappler upset No. 7 seed David Forrester of Harrison Central, 7-1, to stay in the championship bracket.

Quiocho was one of eight Parkersburg South wrestlers to record a pin in less than a minute. Patriot heavyweight Dane Mills had the quickest pin on the team, needing only 16 seconds to flatten Buckeye Local’s Simeon Smith. Briar Shively pinned his opponent at 160 in 20 seconds, three ticks faster than Matt Dixon’s pin at 182. Fellow Patriots Kyle Knotts (126), Jason Allen (195), Chip Sturek (152) and Drake Mills (170) used only 34, 45, 47 and 53 seconds, respectively, in the first period to register pins.

Logan Ball got things going for the Patriots at 106 with a 53-second pin of Meadowbrook’s Chase Stephens and 145-pound teammate Stewart Morris used exactly half the first period before sticking Bellaire’s Cody Tredway.

Lance Hill won early in the second period at 113 via pin. Patriot 138-pounder Dylan Alexander and 220-pounder Zach Haddix also recorded second period mat slappers.