DT Scott all-decade at OSU

Recently Land-Grant Holy Land – an Ohio State sports website – has been selecting the best top-two Buckeye football players at each position from the decade of the 2000s.

And while I’ve agreed with some of the selections and not with others, I thought it worthy to note that Darrion Scott from Charleston who played for Jim Tressel at OSU from 2000-2003 was chosen for defensive tackle all-decade honors along with Cameron Heyward from 2007-10.

The LGHL staff wrote that “Ohio State has a strong history of producing quality defensive tackles. Each year of Jim Tressel’s era with the Buckeyes always seemed to include a tough interior to the defensive line. It was a reliable position for the team throughout the 2000s, and has continued to be into the next decade now.”

Scott, an all-stater from Capital High School, was a first-team All-Big Ten selection as a junior in 2002, finishing with 8 1/2 sacks that year and serving as an integral part of Ohio State’s most recent national championship.

In fact in that national championship game, the 6-foot-3, 290-pound Scott came up with a fumble recovery with a little over two minutes to play in the first half of the title tilt against Miami, Florida. It paid dividends less than a minute later when Maurice Clarett scored on a seven-yard touchdown run to put the Buckeyes up 14-7 before halftime.

I had the opportunity to talk with and interview Darrion during two of Ohio State’s football press days during his time playing for the Buckeyes. He was well spoken, courteous and seemed like a nice guy.

In the 2003 season, Scott recorded 37 tackles as a senior and had 4 1/2 more sacks to conclude his college career with 14 1/2.

Scott was selected in third round of the 2004 NFL draft by the Minnesota Vikings with the 88th overall pick. He played for Minnesota from 2004-07, for the UFL Florida Tuskers in 2009-10 and then back in the NFL with the Washington Redskins in 2010-11.

The other all-decade OSU defensive tackle was Heyward from 2007-10.

He was the son of the late NFL running back Craig “Ironhead” Heyward, and the Georgia Class 5A Defensive Player of the Year in 2006.

He played all four years at Ohio State, finishing with 15 1/2 sacks and 37 1/2 tackles for loss. As a senior in 2010, Heyward had an 80-yard interception on 3rd-and-goal against Miami. Florida, and closed out his Buckeye career with a stellar performance against Arkansas in the Sugar Bowl, pressuring Razorback quarterback Ryan Mallett throughout a game I and grandson Brice Fought attended in helping OSU win its first-ever bowl game against the SEC.

And yes, like the LGHL people noted, “the (Sugar Bowl) game (win) was vacated, but we all saw it happen, so there.”

There were several other DTs from the 2000s decade considered for the honor: Ryan Pickett (1998-2000). Kenny Peterson (1999-2002), Tim Anderson (2000-2003) and Quinn Pitcock (2004-2006).

  • Do you know that WVU’s Big 12 rival Oklahoma is the only program in major college football history to have four head coaches with over 100 wins each? Currently, Bob Stoops is at 149 wins. Barry Switzer leads the foursome with 157, while Bud Wilkinson had 145 and Bernie Owens 122.

After Oklahoma are five programs with three coaches with more than 100 wins: Ohio State, Georgia Tech, Michigan, Southern Cal and Tennessee. For OSU, it’s Woody Hayes with 205, John Cooper with 111 and Jim Tressel with 106.

Contact Steve Hemmelgarn at shemmelgarn@newsandsentinel.com