Teachers name award winners

With the 2018-2019 school year ready to kick-off, there’s still a group of students that finished the 2017-2018 with a ‘bang’ that need recognized.

These 2nd grade students received honors from teachers Cathy Borich and Paige Greathouse: Most Improved — Edie Baker; Most Helpful — Abby Bishman, Kya Kehl, and Brenna Fouss; Awesome Artist — Gavin Caldwell and Cheyenne McKinney; Technology Whiz — Wade Duskey; Best Handwriting — Chloe Elliott, Wyatt Erb, Gavin Caldwell, and Harrison Miller; Happy Helper — Rayken Guiler; Kindest Classmate — Evy Jeffers and Luke Phillis; Ravenous Reader — Emily Knox; Right-Hand Woman — Jaelyn Beehler; Most Organized — Abby Bishman and Harrison Milller; Wonderful Worker — Wyatte Cooper; Strong Arm — Avery Dyar; Best Listener — Wyatt Erb and Mady Stoops; Headed to Hollywood — Lydia Huck; Vivid Vocabulary — Kya Kehl and Evy Jeffers; Super Scientist — Graden Miller; Rock Star — Kaylee Moore and Mason Byers; Mathlete — KeAndra Quimby; A+ Attitude — Jonathon Richards; Homework Hero — Ashton Schultheis; Soaring Toward Success — Bryar Strouse; Quiet Achiever — Rosie Williams; Best Manners — Taylor Moore; Hardest Worker — Skyler Rex and Ethan Wagner; Never a Dull Moment — Haiden Schaad; Ms. Cooperative — Laken Stottsberry; Mr. Caring — Brayden Tennant.

Good luck to all of these students as they become 3rd graders later this week and best wishes to Mrs. Greathouse as she begins a new adventure of her own! And to those incoming second graders, give a warm welcome to Miss Liedtke. She literally was once where you are right now!

These 2017-2018 3rd graders were presented with these awards by teacher Tina Bohl: iReady Reading — Connor Jackson, Lucy Baker, Christian Thieman, Hannah Weiker, Nina Freeman, Everett Sampson, Jonas Wilson, Kali Shilling, Braxton Knoch, and Kenna McCurdy; Highest iReady Reading Score — Christian Thieman; Most Improved iReading Reading — Connor Jackson; Social Studies Award — Christian Thieman, Everett Sampson, Libby MIncks, Braylon Meek, Abi Huck, Zach Holliday, Khoen Courson, Reagan Witten, Adeline Willey, Roxi Strauss, Sydni Skinner, and Braxton Knoch; Language Arts Award — Everett Sampson, Khoen Courson, Reagan Witten, and Sydney Skinner; Spelling Award — Adeline Willey, Zach Holliday, Everett Sampson, Jonas Wilson, Braxton Knoch, Kenna McCurdy, Roxi Strauss, Kaley Good, Lucy Baker, Sydney Skinner, Libby MIncks, Christian Thieman, Hannah Weiker, Addy Steele, Reagan Witten, Ayden Lockhart, and Noah Garbo; Reading Award — Addy Steele, Everett Sampson, Libby MIncks, Hannah Weiker, Sydney Skinner, and Braxton Knoch.

Look out 4th grade, here they come!

And as a final tribute…

I’ve read a lot of writing and media posts about the sudden passing of Mr./Coach Sonny Bidwell (He’ll always be Coach at my house!). This is my favorite: “May the Freshmen forever be fast and the coffee hot, Coach.”


Sue Sampson is a longtime columnist for the Parkersburg News and Sentinel.