Mysteries abound in latest novels

Historical mystery gets a sexy twist in Pamela Christie’s “Death and the Courtesan.”

Arabella Beaumont is a lovely British courtesan whose current patron, the Duke of Glendeen, has some bad news for her one morning. He is going to quit using her “services” because he has a fiancee who doesn’t like his patronage, and according to the news, she is a suspect in the murder of another courtesan, Euphemia Ramsey, a former friend and rival. The two might not have gotten along, but Arabella would never murder her. But with a knife with her initials on it in police hands, it looks like she is the number one suspect! With the help of her sister, Belinda, and some friends, Arabella is determined to prove her innocence by finding the culprit! This is a quirky, tongue-in-cheek story of a “scandalous” courtesan and would-be detective that will make you laugh and the twists will keep you guessing.

“Death and the Courtesan” is published by Kensington. It is $15 and 217 pages long.

* * *

New York Times bestselling authors and sisters Lisa Jackson and Nancy Bush team up for the next book in their supernatural mystery series, “Something Wicked.”

The women who live in the mysterious Siren Song enclave are known for being “gifted” with extraordinary psychic powers. But police detective Savannah Dunbar doesn’t know that she’s about to get sucked into their world. Acting as a surrogate for her sister and brother-in-law, Savannah is heavily pregnant while trying to solve a murder case in the Tillamook area where she grew up. She’s ready to get back to her old life, but her sister, Kristina, is acting strangely, speaking of being under a spell and both her husband, Hale, and Savannah are starting to worry. When Savannah is called by the Siren Song matriarch, Catherine, to investigate her sister’s death (odd considering her sister supposedly died many years ago) Savannah gets pulled into the “cult’s” history even more. And there’s troubling evidence that Kristina may have been mixed up in an affair or something even more shady. Can Savannah untangle the web she is caught in? This mystery has plenty of twists and turns for the reader to uncover and the ESP powers give the book a fun twist. Fans of Jackson and Bush will find this story a pleaser and will be ready for more!

“Something Wicked” is published by Zebra. It is $7.99 and 438 pages long.

* * *

New York Times bestselling author Taylor Stevens tells another story of her bad girl assassin Vanessa Michael Munroe in “The Doll.”

This time Michael is the target and needs her friends to help her. When she is abducted in broad daylight on a busy street, it is up to her friends and lover to try and rescue her. But what kind of bad guys have Michael in their clutches? The Doll Maker has his hands on other unfortunate women and Michael is just his latest target. But in order to survive, she may have to deliver another unfortunate woman into a dark seedy world like what she has endured. Will she do it? Or will the Doll Maker live to regret making Michael his doll? This is a twisty, dark story with a great main character in Michael. Readers who enjoy thrillers will love this.

“The Doll” is published by Crown. It is $24 and 335 pages long.