WVU-P debate team takes top spot at tourney

PARKERSBURG – West Virginia University at Parkersburg’s Union for Speech and Debate took home top honors from the Collegiate Forensic Association at the Beach tournament on March 1 at Ocean City, Md.

Tyler Ohrn, Matt Roberts, Scott Richardson, Jason Ross, Alicia Ford, Nichole Milliren, Morgan Bryant and Theresa Overby comprised the team for WVU-P.

Ohrn won Lincoln-Douglas “Debater of the Year.” The award is given to the CFA student competitor who compiles the best win/loss record and accumulates the most speaker points in Lincoln-Douglas debate for the 2012-2013 academic year. Orhn also placed first in Lincoln-Douglas debate, third in extemporaneous speaking, fifth in communication analysis and sixth in after-dinner speaking.

“When I was in college, I was a debater, so debate is near and dear to my heart. Tyler was the first member of our Union for Speech and Debate, and that makes this award even more special,” said Kim Korcsmaros, WVU-P instructor of speech and Union for Speech and Debate coach.

Many WVU-P debaters won other awards and placed highly in the tournament as well. Ford won “Novice of the Year” in poetry. She also placed first in the poetry category. Ross won “Novice of the Year” in prose and placed third in the prose category. Roberts placed second in the Lincoln-Douglas debate. Milliren placed second in persuasion, and Bryant placed fifth in prose.

WVU-P won the third-place sweepstakes award.