Career Center rewards excellence

MARIETTA — Eighty-five students who made the Washington County Career Center rewarded W.I.S.H. List during the fourth nine-weeks of last school year were rewarded with activities.

W.I.S.H. is an acronym for Willfully maintaining positive behavior, Intrinsically motivated to achieve good grades, Successfully demonstrating positive work ethic, and Habitually present and punctual. To be eligible for the W.I.S.H. List students must meet the following three criteria: 3.0 GPA or Higher, 95 percent attendance or higher and no office referrals.

Returning seniors who met the criteria at the end of last school year normally miss the W.I.S.H. activity due to grades not being entered until after the school year has ended. Kaye Spiker, assistant director for the high school, felt these students needed to be rewarded upon returning as they set the example as leaders among their peers to meet the goals for the new grading period.

The Career Center treated W.I.S.H. students to a flavored snow cone provided by John Church, a local franchise owner of Kona Ice.

“Rewarding the students who are showing growth in being ready, respectful, and responsible promotes career development as well as leadership skills. We want to recognize the students who continually exhibit positive work ethic at school through attendance, grades, and behavior. We often, as administrators, spend a lot of time with students who aren’t doing so well in these three areas. It’s only appropriate to recognize those students who are excelling in these three indicators of school success.”

The students who met the three criteria for the fourth nine weeks of the 2017-2018 school year are: Kyrie Alvarez, Dylan Anderson, Gwendolen Backus, Cooper Barnes, Sierra Bayless, Daniel Bickford, Justyn Bird, Erin Bogard, Timothy Bookman, William Bowman, Kortney Bright, Madison Brill, Amy Brookhart, Gwendolyn Brookhart, Nate Brothers, Alexis Brown, Karalee Carney, Cassidy Carpenter, Jesse Collins, Spencer Crone, Kourtney Custer, Brendan Deem, Dominick Dilly, Tristan Duffey, Shawn Echard, Noah Edgell, Audrey Erb, Jamie Evans, Kyra Flanagan, Breanna Fleeman, Hunter Fox, Hunter Gilbert, Kelsie Gourley, Cole Haines, Landon Hanes, Courtney Hanson, Mary Hayes, Peyton Hazelett, Sydni Hill, Ethan Hinton, Destiny Kearns, Emily Kern, Dalton Kimble, Kyle LaBarre, Olivia Lauric, Evan Law, Alex Longfellow, Andrew Lowe, Jocelyn Lynch, Joseph Mankins, McKayla McClain, Lucas McVicar, Anastasia Moore, Andrew Myers, Morgan Nichols, Kelly Nulter, Israel O’Connor, Kaylee Olvera, Justina Parsons, Tristan Patterson, Megan Payne, Cortney Porter, Timothy Prichard, Austin Proctor, Andrew Pugh, Ivy Pugh, Brian Robinson, Hailee Rohde, Jimma Roux, Cody Schmidt, Jaron Seevers, Timothy Seevers, Carter Sharp, David Sloter, Anna Stalnaker, Alora Stull, Daniel Thompson, Odessa Tornes, Braison Tubaugh, Breanna Tucker, Christian Welch, Jason West, Seth Westfall, Tyson Wilcoxen, and Macy Wright.