Westbrook Health Services honors employees at dinner

Photo Provided Members of Westbrook’s Crisis Service Team and Community Engagement Specialists won the Team Awesome Award at the Employee Recognition Dinner Aug. 9 at the Grand Pointe Conference Center.

PARKERSBURG — Westbrook Health Services thanked employees at the Wonder of Westbrook Employee Appreciation Dinner on Aug. 9 at the Grand Pointe Conference Center in Vienna.

“Westbrook employees are the most capable, caring, well trained people in our community,” said Kevin Trippett, president and CEO. “They dedicate themselves to empowering people with mental health, addiction, and developmental disability challenges reach their greatest potential every day. It is my great honor to work with them.”

Employees were nominated by coworkers and winners received their awards at the dinner.

The Wonder of Westbrook Award was shared with Rick Lowther, who for 15 years has exemplified a spirit of giving by routinely going above and beyond while maintaining the core duties of his job, impacting many people throughout the agency, and supporting Westbrook as a whole.

Tim Barnett took home the Lifetime Achievement Award for over twenty years of service and having a significant impact on the community. Tim has been with Westbrook for more than 29 years and has helped clients and coworkers a life in too many ways to count over his nearly three decades of service.

The Crisis Team and Community Engagement Specialist received the Team Awesome Award. This award went to the division that had a positive impact on the agency as a whole. They work in the community daily to meet the needs of people struggling with mental health and substance abuse challenges and man a 24 hour a day crisis line.

Dylan Dines won the Rising Star Award for consistently going above and beyond and making a significant contribution to the agency and/or client’s lives.

Lila Grinter was honored with the Consider it Done Award for working independently, taking extra care to complete projects with a positive attitude and consistently meeting deadlines.

Rachel Batten was recognized for being Caught in the Act of Caring by demonstrating an exceptional action or actions to improve a client’s life.

Chriss Sturgeon accepted the Westbrook Ambassador Award for positively representing Westbrook in the community, acting as a significant public presence for the agency and being professionally engaged internally and outside the agency.

Jody Cottrell’s efforts snagged her the Hawkeye Award for identifying cost saving methods, streamlining processes for high productivity to reduce waste and contributing creative ideas to the Westbrook.

Shawn Reaser was given the MacGyver Award for solving problems quickly and efficiently, thinking creatively to fix problems and develop work around, and using limited resources in creative and effective ways. Shawn and the entire Information Technology department were instrumental in implementing a new electronic medical records system.

Bettie Smith received the most votes for going above and beyond to improve the safety and cleanliness of Westbrook facilities and contribute to the safety and betterment of the agency. She received the Behind the Scenes Award.

Ashli Corra garnered the Encouraging Word Award for being genuinely kind to coworkers, clients, families, and the public; supporting them and taking the time to focus on their concerns.

Local businesses supported the contributions of Westbrook employees by sponsoring the event. WV Wealth Advisors reached Diamond sponsor status with a $2,000 gift. At the Gold Sponsor Level were Mutual of America, WesBanco, and Genoa Healthcare. Each contributed $1,000. Silver Sponsors at the $500 level were Poynter’s Best Products, Waters Insurance Agency, and Lamp Pestproof. Friends of Westbrook include USA Vending and Kincheloe Motors at $200 and Westbrook’s Accounting and Finance Department at $100.

Employees recognized for years of service were: 25, Tina Forshey, Beth Parsons; 20, Tammy Carpenter, Mary Kendle, Rick Lowther, Tim Leach; 15, Peggy Wegman, Tammy Eisenbarth; 10, Jarod Eddy, Debby Nichols, Suzanne Evans, Stacey Holbert, Jon Lane, Michelle Shrader, Randa Eddy, Rebecca Simpson, Brian McCune, Judy Whited; five, Monica Bennett, Sarah Stark, Melinda Digman, Janet Dutton, Cindy Jett, Benjamin Miller, Shailah Tomblin, Meshawn Neff, James Martin, Angela Casto, Aimee Morris, Sarah Tucker, Jay Powell II, Kelli Ross, Maria Parks, Carolyn Fulks, Amy Shiflet, Betty Mechler, Loretta Guinn, Carrie Huffman.

Perfect attendance honors were given to Dedra Balderson, Kendra Barker, Keith Campbell, Katee Conaway, Cameron Dunlap, Marcy Ellis, Suzanne Evans, Carl Flowers, Shirley Frazier, Michelle Greenwalt, Dean Hirschi, Tim Leach, Pamala Mayne, Katrina McCauley, Marvin Paxton, Rachel Scheiding, Selina Sears, Tammy Staats, Chriss Sturgeon, Kevin Trippett, David Williams, Linda Williams.